First Coast Connect http://news.wjct.org en City Council To Vote On Food Truck Ordinance http://news.wjct.org/post/city-council-vote-food-truck-ordinance <p>In a closely watched issue for local food truck owners and fans, drafted legislation for Jacksonville’s food truck ordinance will go before City Council committees this week.</p><p> Mon, 18 Aug 2014 19:19:04 +0000 Karen Feagins & Melissa Ross 15855 at http://news.wjct.org City Council To Vote On Food Truck Ordinance Local, State Organizations Partner To Address School To Prison Pipeline http://news.wjct.org/post/local-state-organizations-partner-address-school-prison-pipeline <p>The Jacksonville-based Delores Barr Weaver Policy Center is working with the state's Department of Juvenile Justice to prevent Florida girls from falling into the juvenile justice system.</p><p> Thu, 14 Aug 2014 18:54:14 +0000 Melissa Ross 15784 at http://news.wjct.org Local, State Organizations Partner To Address School To Prison Pipeline Depression And Mental Health Awareness In The Wake Of Robin Williams's Death http://news.wjct.org/post/depression-and-mental-health-awareness-wake-robin-williamss-death <p>The death of actor and comedian Robin Williams has unleashed a tide of emotion and discussion about how we deal with issues of mental illness in this country.</p><p> Wed, 13 Aug 2014 17:37:38 +0000 Melissa Ross 15756 at http://news.wjct.org Depression And Mental Health Awareness In The Wake Of Robin Williams's Death Jacksonville Business Journal Reporter On Local Businesses 'Under The Gun' http://news.wjct.org/post/jacksonville-business-journal-reporter-local-businesses-under-gun <p>Dealing with crime in Jacksonville has become an issue for business owners in the city’s so-called "Ceasefire Zone."</p><p> Tue, 12 Aug 2014 16:46:15 +0000 Melissa Ross & Mike Miller 15731 at http://news.wjct.org Jacksonville Business Journal Reporter On Local Businesses 'Under The Gun' Democratic Gubernatorial Candidate Nan Rich Touts Record Heading Into Primary http://news.wjct.org/post/democratic-gubernatorial-candidate-nan-rich-touts-record-heading-primary <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Florida Democrats have until August </span>26 to decide who they will support in the state's governor's race: Charlie Crist or Nan Rich.</p><p> Mon, 11 Aug 2014 18:51:04 +0000 Melissa Ross 15705 at http://news.wjct.org Democratic Gubernatorial Candidate Nan Rich Touts Record Heading Into Primary Media Roundtable: Fuller Warren Bike Path, Uber Ridesharing And Water Taxis http://news.wjct.org/post/media-roundtable-fuller-warren-bike-path-uber-ridesharing-and-water-taxis <p>From ridesharing to water taxis to bike paths, transportation is big news in Jacksonville this week.</p><p> Fri, 08 Aug 2014 18:31:19 +0000 Melissa Ross 15659 at http://news.wjct.org Media Roundtable: Fuller Warren Bike Path, Uber Ridesharing And Water Taxis Deemable Tech: What To Do About The Scary "CyberVor" Data Breach http://news.wjct.org/post/deemable-tech-what-do-about-scary-cybervor-data-breach-0 <p>An astounding and scary cyber-security breach is rocking the Internet. Thu, 07 Aug 2014 13:42:15 +0000 Melissa Ross 15624 at http://news.wjct.org Deemable Tech: What To Do About The Scary "CyberVor" Data Breach Krista Tippett 'On Being' A National Humanities Medal Winner http://news.wjct.org/post/krista-tippett-being-national-humanities-medal-winner <p>President Obama recently awarded Krista Tippett, host of the public radio program "On Being," with the National Humanities Medal. Wed, 06 Aug 2014 15:22:20 +0000 Melissa Ross 15600 at http://news.wjct.org Krista Tippett 'On Being' A National Humanities Medal Winner Can There Be Lasting Peace In Gaza? http://news.wjct.org/post/can-there-be-lasting-peace-gaza <p>After weeks of violence, a three-day cease-fire between the Israeli Defense Forces and the Hamas militants seems to be holding this morning in the ravaged Gaza strip. Wed, 06 Aug 2014 13:55:58 +0000 Melissa Ross 15598 at http://news.wjct.org Can There Be Lasting Peace In Gaza? With All Due Respect: The Cruelty Of Animal Abuse And Offshore Drilling http://news.wjct.org/post/all-due-respect-cruelty-animal-abuse-and-offshore-drilling <p>I get it. I truly understand and empathize with the uproar and outrage concerning the two teenaged girls who tortured and stomped to death a gopher tortoise on July 16 in Clay County. Tue, 05 Aug 2014 16:13:40 +0000 Jay Solomon 15572 at http://news.wjct.org With All Due Respect: The Cruelty Of Animal Abuse And Offshore Drilling