First Coast Connect http://news.wjct.org en Anchors Aweigh: Local TV News Departures Spark Discussion http://news.wjct.org/post/anchors-aweigh-local-tv-news-departures-spark-discussion <p>First Coast News has one less familiar face in the newsroom. Wed, 30 Jul 2014 19:46:27 +0000 Melissa Ross & Danae Leake 15437 at http://news.wjct.org Anchors Aweigh: Local TV News Departures Spark Discussion Support For Medical Marijuana In Florida Continues To Grow http://news.wjct.org/post/support-medical-marijuana-florida-continues-grow <p>A new poll is out showing that the state’s voters are actually in widespread agreement about something, and it’s an issue that cuts across race, age, gender and party lines. Wed, 30 Jul 2014 15:40:02 +0000 Melissa Ross 15433 at http://news.wjct.org Support For Medical Marijuana In Florida Continues To Grow Tech Tuesday: Local Education Nonprofit Wins Google Glass Contest http://news.wjct.org/post/tech-tuesday-local-education-nonprofit-wins-google-glass-contest <p>A local organization is getting a big nod from Google. Tue, 29 Jul 2014 14:54:22 +0000 Melissa Ross 15406 at http://news.wjct.org Tech Tuesday: Local Education Nonprofit Wins Google Glass Contest Climate Change Driving Politics In Race For Florida Governor http://news.wjct.org/post/climate-change-driving-politics-race-florida-governor <p>Climate wars are fueling the Florida governor’s race. Tue, 29 Jul 2014 14:00:49 +0000 Melissa Ross 15405 at http://news.wjct.org Climate Change Driving Politics In Race For Florida Governor Cole Pepper: EverBank Mega Event A Success, Summer Of Soccer Continues, Sharks Season Ends With Win http://news.wjct.org/post/cole-pepper-everbank-mega-event-success-summer-soccer-continues-sharks-season-ends-win <p>The scoreboards may have been the largest draw to EverBank Field this weekend, but there was some action on the field as well. Cole Pepper has it all in his weekly sports wrap. Mon, 28 Jul 2014 14:54:47 +0000 Melissa Ross & Cole Pepper 15383 at http://news.wjct.org Cole Pepper: EverBank Mega Event A Success, Summer Of Soccer Continues, Sharks Season Ends With Win With Successful Scoreboard Unveiling, Examining The Economics Of EverBank Field http://news.wjct.org/post/successful-scoreboard-unveiling-examining-economics-everbank-field <p>People across the First Coast and NFL fans around the country are still talking this morning about Saturday night's "Mega Event" at Everbank Field. Mon, 28 Jul 2014 13:40:22 +0000 Melissa Ross 15382 at http://news.wjct.org With Successful Scoreboard Unveiling, Examining The Economics Of EverBank Field No Plans? No Problem! Things To Do This Weekend On The First Coast http://news.wjct.org/post/no-plans-no-problem-things-do-weekend-first-coast-23 <p>A legend and a "mega event" are happening this weekend on the First Coast this weekend. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 17:27:56 +0000 Patrick Donges & Kerry Speckman 15337 at http://news.wjct.org No Plans? No Problem! Things To Do This Weekend On The First Coast ONLY IN FLORIDA: Thief Smuggles Sushi In His Pants http://news.wjct.org/post/only-florida-thief-smuggles-sushi-his-pants <p>Is that sushi in your pants, or are you just happy to see me? We're putting fish in strange places in this week's <strong>ONLY IN FLORIDA</strong>. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 16:10:44 +0000 Patrick Donges & Melissa Ross 15331 at http://news.wjct.org ONLY IN FLORIDA: Thief Smuggles Sushi In His Pants Media Roundtable: Local Environmentalists Fight Drilling Companies On New Off-Shore Regulations http://news.wjct.org/post/media-roundtable-local-environmentalists-fight-drilling-companies-new-shore-regulations <p>Environmental advocates and energy companies are at odds in a fight over what should be allowed in the waters of the First Coast. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 15:31:55 +0000 Melissa Ross 15328 at http://news.wjct.org Media Roundtable: Local Environmentalists Fight Drilling Companies On New Off-Shore Regulations JTA CEO Nat Ford On Plan To Optimize Jax Bus Routes http://news.wjct.org/post/jta-ceo-nat-ford-plan-optimize-jax-bus-routes <p>The Jacksonville Transportation Authority is undergoing an overhaul to meet the demands of 21st century commuters. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 15:04:25 +0000 Melissa Ross 15301 at http://news.wjct.org JTA CEO Nat Ford On Plan To Optimize Jax Bus Routes