First Coast Connect http://news.wjct.org en A 'Party With A Purpose' - One Spark Looks To Expand Globally And In Jacksonville http://news.wjct.org/post/party-purpose-one-spark-looks-expand-globally-and-jacksonville <p>After the major success of the 2014 One Spark festival in Jacksonville last week, the founders of One Spark are headed to New York for a whirlwind media tour, including a stop at the New York Stock Exchange. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 16:38:17 +0000 Melissa Ross & Patrick Donges 12837 at http://news.wjct.org A 'Party With A Purpose' - One Spark Looks To Expand Globally And In Jacksonville Tony Allegretti On His New Role As Cultural Council Director http://news.wjct.org/post/tony-allegretti-his-new-role-cultural-council-director <p>Considered by many to be a visionary leader in Jacksonville's cultural landscape, Tony Allegretti is leaving his post at the JAX Chamber to become the next executive director of the Cultural Council of Greater Jacksonville. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 17:43:51 +0000 Melissa Ross 12811 at http://news.wjct.org Tony Allegretti On His New Role As Cultural Council Director Tech Tuesday: The Blood Moon http://news.wjct.org/post/tech-tuesday-blood-moon <p>Last night, Mars rose in the east as it passed opposition for 2014, giving lunar observers a rare and ominous treat — the appearance of a "blood moon." Tue, 15 Apr 2014 17:31:59 +0000 Cole Gordon & Melissa Ross 12780 at http://news.wjct.org Tech Tuesday: The Blood Moon As FCAT Ends, What's Next For Florida Classrooms? http://news.wjct.org/post/fcat-ends-whats-next-florida-classrooms <p>This week marks the last time state students will take the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test, known as the FCAT. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 17:06:16 +0000 Patrick Donges & Melissa Ross 12779 at http://news.wjct.org As FCAT Ends, What's Next For Florida Classrooms? Benjamin Ross To Discuss The 'Rebirth Of American Urbanism' In Downtown Jax http://news.wjct.org/post/benjamin-ross-discuss-rebirth-american-urbanism-downtown-jax <p>Now that the 2014 One Spark festival has concluded, what comes next for downtown Jacksonville? Mon, 14 Apr 2014 19:05:38 +0000 Lindsey Kilbride & Melissa Ross 12750 at http://news.wjct.org Benjamin Ross To Discuss The 'Rebirth Of American Urbanism' In Downtown Jax Examining Veterans' Mental Health Issues On The First Coast http://news.wjct.org/post/examining-veterans-mental-health-issues-first-coast <p>Veterans' mental health issues are back in the headlines following the recent shooting at Fort Hood — the second fatal incident at the base in five years. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 15:30:04 +0000 Melissa Ross 12746 at http://news.wjct.org Examining Veterans' Mental Health Issues On The First Coast MOCA Jacksonville Expects Big Weekend Crowd During One Spark http://news.wjct.org/post/moca-jacksonville-expects-big-weekend-crowd-during-one-spark <p>With an estimated 85,000 people in downtown Jacksonville over just the first two days of the 2014 One Spark festival, the Museum of Contemporary Art Jacksonville expects an influx of visitors this weekend. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 19:23:00 +0000 Melissa Ross & Cole Gordon 12708 at http://news.wjct.org MOCA Jacksonville Expects Big Weekend Crowd During One Spark Looking Back At One Spark Success, And Looking Ahead With Rethreaded http://news.wjct.org/post/looking-back-one-spark-success-and-looking-ahead-rethreaded <p>Among the big winners at last year’s inaugural One Spark festival was anti-human trafficking advocacy group Rethreaded, and success has kept the group busy. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 19:10:23 +0000 Melissa Ross & Cole Gordon 12707 at http://news.wjct.org Looking Back At One Spark Success, And Looking Ahead With Rethreaded Fourth Annual Farming Tour To Highlight First Coast 'Slow Food' Movement http://news.wjct.org/post/fourth-annual-farming-tour-highlight-first-coast-slow-food-movement <p>Local farmers, artisans, chefs, and "slow food" advocates are opening their gates for an afternoon billed as the largest food movement event in Northeast Florida. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 18:57:03 +0000 Melissa Ross & Cole Gordon 12706 at http://news.wjct.org Fourth Annual Farming Tour To Highlight First Coast 'Slow Food' Movement Jacksonville Music Compilation Released At One Spark http://news.wjct.org/post/jacksonville-music-compilation-released-one-spark <p>There’s a new local music compilation being released to celebrate the energy and creativity of the 2014 One Spark festival. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 18:37:53 +0000 Melissa Ross & Cole Gordon 12705 at http://news.wjct.org Jacksonville Music Compilation Released At One Spark