Rape kit testing
Governor Rick Scott signs into law a measure requiring all rape kits in the state to be tested within 120 days.
Scott signed the bill after the Florida Department of Law Enforcement issued a report that said 13,000 kits in Florida have not been processed — sometimes for years.
In Duval County, FDLE reports one of the highest rates of forcible sexual offenses in the state.
The state attorney’s office has applied for a $2 million dollar grant to handle all the untested rape kits.
But even with this new law taking effect, some women who’ve been raped said they’re skeptical authorities can actually bring them justice.
Folio Weekly editor Claire Goforth, who’s written about Sara’s ordeal, is the in-studio guest.