Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

St. Johns Teacher Of The Year Chosen For Governor's Award

St. Johns County School District

St. Johns County’s latest Teacher of the Year is getting some added accolades today from Governor Rick Scott.St. Augustine High School English teacher Daryl Cullipher, who won the county’s Teacher of the Year award in February, is among three educators chosen by Scott to receive the Governor’s Shine Award. The announcement was made at a cabinet meeting Tuesday morning. 

The Shine Award is presented to Florida educators who have impacted the lives of students through the classroom.

Two other recent Teachers of the Year, Walton County Spanish teacher Susan Marino and Escambia County science teacher Jana Pavlus, were also recognized with Shine Awards.

You can follow Patrick Donges on Twitter @patrickhdonges.