Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Board Votes To Explore Changing Identities Of 6 Duval Schools With Confederate Names

Robert E. Lee High School is named after the commander of the Confederate States Army during the American Civil War.

Amid renewed calls for the renaming of schools dedicated to Confederate civil war figures, the Duval County Public School Board voted Tuesday night to explore changing the names of six schools.

The unanimous vote came after a letter from School Board Chairman Warren Jones recommending the board approve the renaming of J.E.B. Stuart Middle School, Stonewall Jackson Elementary School, Joseph Finegan Elementary School, Jefferson Davis Middle School, Edmund Kirby Smith Middle School and Robert E. Lee High School.

“We have come to a place and time in the history of our city, that we must begin the process of renaming all the schools named for a Confederate soldier,” Jones’ letter said. “This effort can help heal a city that is fractured. In following the lead of our mayor, who is boldly removing all Confederate monuments, it is high time that we do that same.”

The chairman presented the proposal during Tuesday night’s meeting. Now that it has been approved, Superintendent Diana Greene will establish the method of deciding on a new name for each building with the community’s input.

  • J.E.B. Stuart Middle School
  • Stonewall Jackson Elementary School
  • Joseph Finegan Elementary School
  • Jefferson Davis Middle School
  • Edmund Kirby Smith Middle School
  • Robert E. Lee High Schoolhe community’s input.

An expanded version of this story that includes reaction to the board's decision and a video report is at