Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Members Of Jax 2020 Host Committee For Republican National Convention Announced

Downtown Jacksonville
Bill Bortzfield
Downtown Jacksonville is pictured Wednesday evening.

The names of the members of the Jacksonville 2020 Host Committee for the Republican National Convention were released Thursday.

The group of community and business leaders from Jacksonville and across Florida will welcome tens of thousands of visitors August 24 – 27 as part of the convention takes place at the VyStar Veterans Memorial Arena.

Related: More Local, State And National 2020 Election News

"Community and business leaders from here in Jacksonville and across the Sunshine State are sharing their time, talent and experience to ensure Jacksonville is able to host a successful convention for our visitors on this expedited timeframe," said Jacksonville Mayor Lenny Curry, co-chair of the Jacksonville 2020 Host Committee in an email to WJCT News.

The members of the committee are:  

Lenny Curry, co-chair 

Jacksonville Mayor

Brian Ballard, co-chair

President, Ballard Partners

John Rutherford

Member of the U.S. House of Representatives

Colonel Michael Waltz

Member of the U.S. House of Representatives

Bill Galvano

President of the Florida Senate

Jose Oliva

Speaker of the Florida House of Representatives

Wilton Simpson

Florida Senate President Designate

Chris Sprowls

Florida House of Representatives Speaker Designate

Rob Bradley

Florida Senate Appropriations Chair

Travis Cummings

Florida House of Representatives Appropriations Chair

Fernando Acosta-Rua

President & Chief Executive Officer of Pet Paradise 

Andy Allen

Founder of Corner Lot Properties

Max Alvarez

Founder of Sunshine Gasoline Distributors

John Baker

Chairman and CEO of FRP Holdings, Inc.

Pam Bondi

Former Florida Attorney General and Chair of Ballard Partners Corporate Regulatory Compliance

Ed Burr

President and CEO of GreenPointe Holdings, LLC

Robert Coker

Senior Vice President, Public Affairs, of U.S. Sugar

Michael Corrigan

President and CEO of Visit Jacksonville

J. David & Jodi Coxwell

President of J.B. Coxwell Contracting

Daniel Davis

President and CEO of JAX Chamber

Carol Dover

President and CEO of the Florida Restaurant and Lodging Association

Nat Ford

Chief Executive Officer of the Jacksonville Transportation Authority

Josh Garrison

President of Miranda Contracting

Leon L. Haley Jr., M.D.

Vice President for Health Affairs, University of Florida; Dean, College of Medicine - Jacksonville; CEO, UF Health Jacksonville

Bishop Vaughn McLaughin

Founder and Senior Pastor of the Potter's House International Ministries

Rick Morales

President of Morales Construction Co.

Tom Petway

Jacksonville Business and Civic Leader

Ty Petway

Chief Executive Officer of US Assure

John Rood

Founder of The Vestcor Companies

Kent Stermon

Chief Operating Officer of Total Military Management

Aundra Wallace

President of JAXUSA Partnership

The Jacksonville 2020 Host Committee said it would be will announcing logistics and event details in the coming days and weeks.