Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

5 Finalists For Duval County Teacher Of The Year Announced

Duval County Teacher of the Year Finalists.
Duval County Public Schools & WJCT News
Duval County Teacher of the Year Finalists.

The Duval County Public Schools district has announced the five finalists for VyStar Duval County Teacher Of the Year after starting with 175 nominees.

The finalists are:

  • Nadine Ebri - Southside Middle School 
  • Kenneth Ford - Carter G. Woodson Elementary 
  • Jameea Jackson-Gaines - Richard Lewis Brown Gifted & Academically Talented Academy 
  • Kimberly Parker - Lake Lucina Elementary 
  • Jim Schmitt - Mandarin High School 

The winner will be announced at the 2021 EDDY Awards, hosted by the Jacksonville Public Education Fund (JPEF), on January 27 at the Hyatt Regency Downtown.
To promote social distancing, watch parties are being planned around the county, with a smaller than usual event at the Hyatt. WJCT News partner News 4 Jax will be providing TV coverage.

Here's more information about the EDDY Awards from JPEF and the full list of175 nominees.

Bill Bortzfield can be reached at or on Twitter at @BortzInJax.

Bill joined WJCT News in September of 2017 from The Florida Times-Union, where he served in a variety of multimedia journalism positions.