Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Two Jax Authors 2015 Florida Book Award Winners

Two Jacksonville authors are among the winners of the annual Florida Book Awards.

In the General Fiction category, the silver medal goes to Jacksonville’s Gracie L. Chandler for her book: “Free to Be.”

The historical novel is the story of South Carolina slaves who work for the federal government during the Civil War.  “Free to Be” is Chandler’s first published novel.

And Jacksonville Beach author Bruce Thomason will receive the bronze medal in Popular Fiction for his police thriller: “Perception of Power”… the third volume in his Detective Clay Randall series.  Thomason is a retired police officer with 45 years of experience in Texas, Ohio and Florida.

The Florida Book Awards recognize authors whose work was published the previous year. An award ceremony honoring 2015’s top three authors in each of nine categories is set for next month in Tallahassee. 

Cyd Hoskinson began working at WJCT on Valentine’s Day 2011.