Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

16 Candidates Qualify For Florida Presidential Primary Ballot

"Vote Here" sign

Florida’s presidential primary ballots are set in stone. Secretary of State Ken Detzner released the qualified candidate list Tuesday, as the Florida News Service reports, with 13 Republicans’ and three Democrats’ facing off in the March 15 elections.

Republicans will be able to select from former Florida Gov. Jeb Bush, physician Ben Carson, New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie, Texas Sen. Ted Cruz, South Carolina Sen. Lindsey Graham, businesswoman Carly Fiorina, former Virginia Gov. Jim Gilmore, former Arkansas Gov. Mike Huckabee, Ohio Gov. John Kasich, Kentucky Sen. Rand Paul, Florida Sen. Marco Rubio, former Pennsylvania Sen. Rick Santorum and businessman Donald Trump.

Democrats will have three candidates : Vermont Sen. Bernie Sanders, former Maryland Gov. Martin O'Malley and former New York Sen. and Secretary of State Hillary Clinton on the ballot.

Voters must be registered with one of the parties by Feb. 16 to participate in the primary.

Jessica Palombo supervises local news gathering and production, podcasts and web editorial content for WJCT News, ADAPT and Jacksonville Today. She is an award-winning writer and journalist with bylines including NPR, Experience Magazine, and The Gainesville Sun. She has a master’s degree in broadcast and digital journalism from Syracuse University and is an alumna of the University of Florida. A nearly lifelong resident of Jacksonville, she considers herself lucky to be raising her own children in her hometown. Follow Jessica Palombo on Twitter: @JaxJessicaP